Is Canola Oil Gluten-Free?

You will use various types of oil in your food preparation. You might use vegetable oil, coconut oil, hazelnut oil, and other types of oil. But more commonly you might use canola oil in your food preparation. The question is this: “Is canola oil gluten-free?” Before we figure out the answer to this question, you have to be informed about the use of oil in your food preparation first. When you use oil in your food preparation, be sure to understand that the oil can cause various problems in your body, especially when you heat the oil and use it in your processed foods.

Is Canola Oil Gluten-Free?

The most common disadvantage of oil is that it can cause free radicals to form in your body. Because of this, you can experience many allergic reactions when you use some types of oil in your food preparation. This can be bad for your body, especially if you are following a gluten-free diet. So you have to choose the oil that you want to use in your food preparation carefully. Many types of oil contain gluten, which is bad for your diet. However, some oil may not contain any gluten at all, especially if the oil is processed naturally.

So let’s go back to the original question. Is canola oil gluten-free? The simple answer is yes, canola oil is mostly gluten-free. But it doesn’t stop there. The gluten-free one is the pure canola oil. Canola oil that is not pure or is processed badly may still contain traces of the gluten protein. So if you want to use canola oil in your food preparation, be sure to choose pure canola oil. Pure canola oil is always gluten-free and it is safe to consume for your body. Pure canola oil is also non-allergenic which means that it will not cause any allergic reactions in your body. It will also not cause any free radicals to form in your body, which means that it is very safe for you to consume.

Pure Canola Oil is Gluten-Free!

Though canola is often grown with other gluten-containing foods or ingredients, such as wheat, rye, and barley, it doesn’t mean that canola oil will contain gluten as well. The canola seed is processed naturally which will help to eliminate the trace of any possible gluten protein before the pure canola oil is obtained. When the seed is crushed, the oil is obtained and various processing steps are needed to obtain the pure canola oil.

Also, remember that not all canola oil sold in grocery stores is pure canola oil. Some of them are refined canola oil, but not 100% pure. They may still contain gluten, which is bad for your diet. So when you choose canola oil, make sure that you are choosing a pure canola oil. If the label doesn’t say pure canola oil, it’s probably safer to not pick that canola oil and see if you can find one with pure canola oil on the label. This is because even popular brands may not sell pure canola oil all the time. Some of them also sell regular canola oil, which is not pure.

So in conclusion, canola oil is gluten-free, as long as you use pure canola oil. Other than pure canola oil, it may still contain the gluten protein, which is bad for your diet.

Sources

http://canolaeatwell.com/gluten-free/#.V9DQdoYrKPo

Leave a Comment